DATE: January 4, 2008

TO: Prospective SACS Task Force Members

FROM: William Marcy, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

RE: Task Force Membership

I am requesting your participation in a task force that will be convened to support our institutional response to SACS-COC probationary status. I believe that this difficult situation provides an opportunity to focus on the critical steps to improve our general education curriculum and our students' attainment of college-level competencies. However, I need strong leaders to stand with me as we take on the work that is required to submit a successful Third Monitoring Report. I look to you for your support in this effort through your service on the SACS Task Force and leadership with your various constituencies throughout the institution.

Please contact Pam Roberson at 742-2184 or by e-mail pam.roberson@ttu.edu as soon as possible to indicate your willingness to serve on the SACS Task Force. I will convene our first meeting soon after classes begin.

Copy: Jon Whitmore, President, Texas Tech University

Kent Hance, Chancellor, Texas Tech University System

Attachment: Charge to SACS Task Force

SACS Task Force Invite List

- Thomas Barker, Professor, English; Chairperson, Strategic Planning Council
- Don Clancy, Professor of Accounting, Associate Dean
- Ray Desrosiers, Associate Professor of Computer Science, College of Engineering; Chairperson, General Education Committee
- Sam Dragga, Professor and Department Chairperson, English, College of Arts and Sciences
- Pam Eibeck, Professor and Dean, College of Engineering
- Elizabeth Hall, Associate Professor, Health, Exercise, and Sport Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences; Vice Provost
- John Howe, Professor, History, College of Arts and Sciences; past President of the Faculty Senate and AAUP
- Norm Hopper, Professor of Plant and Soil Science; Associate Academic Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
- MaryJane Hurst, Professor, English, College of Arts and Sciences; Faculty Assistant to the President
- Debbie Laverie, Professor, Marketing, Rawls College of Business; Director, Teaching, Learning and Technology Center
- Jonathan Marks, Associate Professor, Theater and Dance, College of Visual and Performing Arts; Director, TTU Ethics Initiative (Quality Enhancement Plan)
- Mason Moses, Student and President, Student Government Association
- Juan Munoz, Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education; Special Assistant to the President for Institutional Diversity
- Arturo, Olivarez, Professor of Educational Psychology and Leadership, College of Education
- Rebecca Owens, Managing Director, Program for Academic Support Services
- Valerie Paton, Assistant Professor, Higher Education, College of Education; Associate Vice Provost
- T. Gilmour Reeve, Professor, Health, Exercise, and Sport Sciences; Director of Strategic Planning and SACS Liaison
- Lawrence Schovanec, Professor and Department Chairperson, Mathematics and

Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences

Peter Westfall, Horn Professor, College of Business Administration; past Chairperson, SACS Certification of Compliance Committee

Gene Wilde, Professor, Range, Biological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences; President of the Faculty Senate

Jane Winer, Professor and Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

John Zak, Professor and Department Chairperson, Biological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Ex Officio Members

Jodey Arrington, Chief of Staff for Chancellor Hance

Margaret Lutherer, Executive Director for Communications, Office of the President

Sam Segran, Associate Vice President for Information Technology

Vicki West, Director, Institutional Research and Information Management